Doom 3 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 11:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
ya know they god mods where it's like having a flashlight at the end of your gun

One is the bat signal lol
Thats awesome!!! I'M BATMAN!!!! lol, (all the scary monsters tremble in fear)
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Stupid hackers, that's even lamer than me hacking just by installing an ATI video card. I mean using a card from one of the 2 manufacturers of video cards, that's some serious hacking there.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Doom 3 plays perfectly w/ full specs on my 6600GT
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

as it should. i just wish it would run maxed out on my 9500 Pro
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Stupid hackers, that's even lamer than me hacking just by installing an ATI video card. I mean using a card from one of the 2 manufacturers of video cards, that's some serious hacking there.
What the hell are you complaining about now? You are a little exploiter giving up performance for shadows through wall :rolleyes. If you're talking about that bat signal I was talking about, it's a mod for the game, that's not an exploit, and it's not for multiplayer either. It's for single player and it's no more hacking than using the give all or god cheats.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
Stupid hackers, that's even lamer than me hacking just by installing an ATI video card. I mean using a card from one of the 2 manufacturers of video cards, that's some serious hacking there.
Yep that's ANOTHER reason why from a non peformance level I boycott ATI.

But I also SWEAR on my 6600GT i saw a shadow thru a wall once. Glitch though...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

ROFL That is fracked up crap there....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I guess it depends on the game.

And no nubius I'm not sacrificing performance. If I had bought the x700 xt I was comparing to the 6600 gt I might have been, but I got the x800 xl. So actually the performance is better especially on Direct3D games ALA AAO.

And I know you would hate to admit it but if the game you played all the time produced larger shadows on either ati or nvidia and that game was already favored by that same company because it being either direct3d(ati) or opengl(nvidia) wouldn't you be thinking, BONUS?!?

Or would you purposely buy the card that plays the game worse just so you can keep your morals and not be taking advantage of a cheat? I'm honestly curious nubius, because you are so quick to accuse, I wonder if you were in that situation you would respond the same.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
I guess it depends on the game.

And no nubius I'm not sacrificing performance. If I had bought the x700 xt I was comparing to the 6600 gt I might have been, but I got the x800 xl. So actually the performance is better especially on Direct3D games ALA AAO.

And I know you would hate to admit it but if the game you played all the time produced larger shadows on either ati or nvidia and that game was already favored by that same company because it being either direct3d(ati) or opengl(nvidia) wouldn't you be thinking, BONUS?!?

Or would you purposely buy the card that plays the game worse just so you can keep your morals and not be taking advantage of a cheat? I'm honestly curious nubius, because you are so quick to accuse, I wonder if you were in that situation you would respond the same.
HaHaHaHa I actually think you should respond to this nubius
McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 12:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Meh really don't want to McK

Anywho, if I recall correctly dale, way back when you were choosing to give up performance for shadows....under those circumstances that'd be ridiculously stupid.

If however your card obviously does better than the other companies card within the game, yes I'd go for that, but the fact of shadows going through walls wouldn't be effecting my decision, the performance of the card would.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.