Dont understand how to make my comp play tv shows at all - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Dont understand how to make my comp play tv shows at all

I have a radeon 9800 pro 256 and I just got my 19 inch monitor and im wondering what else I have to buy to make this possible?
__________________

DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

what do you mean "play TV shows"?

well let's just say if you don't wanna drop a lot of dough on it the quality will probably be bad
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

If you're talking about watching TV on your PC then you need a Video card with a TV tuner. I don't thing the 9800 Pro has one.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 01:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Dam that sugs wee
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 02:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

you can buy a separate tv card, it doesnt have to part integrated with your gfx card...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0
joshd is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 03:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

or did you mean hooking up your tv to your pc? that can be done thru vid card's video in
LoTeX is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 06:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

I've had an ATI TV Wonder PCI card in my system for at least the last 3 years. Decent card for watching TV and such... I wouldn't pay a lot for once since the quality of any analog cable signal is going to be pretty crappy when displayed on a computer screen anyway...

That being said, my TV card has been one of the sources of major instability in my system since I've been running it. That is across 3 iterations of hardware and 2 operating systems. It even crashed a lot when I had a real All-In-Wonder card.

I haven't used any of the offerings from Hauppage or those guys, but I'm betting its probably about the same.

Unfortunately, Windows XP x64 doesn't support any of them at the moment, so I am running w/o one for now.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.