dont know - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default dont know

hello

well , i dont expect any one to help me but dont know what to do , and this is the only place i have ever got any help.

for the past couple or three days my comp. has been getting all messed up (the screen) and it gets so bad i cant see to shut down the right way , so i use the power button.

well most of the time it will not boot up until i put the xp cd and boot.

a few hours ago it started and after a min or so got the blue screen and it said c0000415 unknown hard error , dumping physical memeory to disk.

well after that it booted up and i had yellow marks in device manager beside display drivers with message to run add hardware wizard so i did .

well has anyone had this happen to them , and are there anything i could try.

thanks much
harley
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Superalien 500W
Asus P4c800E Deluxe
Intel P-4 800 3.0G 1mb cache
Crucial 4x 512MB DDR400
2x WD 80GB Sata 150 7200rpm 8M
Ati Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Audigy 2ZS
Windows XP , home sp2
harley88 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

install/download the newest graphics card drivers or try another graphics card
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

if there were no yellow marks in device manager, I would say it your monitor
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Default

super and the major

thanks a lot for your reply . i sure do appreciate it.

i am trying to uninstall the old ati drivers and try to install some new ones. but i have tried five or six times in add/remove and in device manager and they will not come out.

i also got another message:vpu recover has reset your grafics acceleator as it was no longer responding to grafics driver commands.

any ideas on how to uninstall display drivers

thanks again
harley
__________________
Aspire X-Superalien 500W
Asus P4c800E Deluxe
Intel P-4 800 3.0G 1mb cache
Crucial 4x 512MB DDR400
2x WD 80GB Sata 150 7200rpm 8M
Ati Radeon 9800XT 256MB
Audigy 2ZS
Windows XP , home sp2
harley88 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Right Click on My Computer, Go to Properties, then Hardware, then Device Manager, click on Display Adaptors, find your GFX Card and unistall it there by either right clicking and uninstall, or on the littler uninstall picture up top.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

or just uninstall the sofware under "software"
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

The best thing is to use the manufacturer's software to remove itself. That doesn't always work, unfortunately. I have had upon occasion had the vendor's software (or the Add/Remove software control panel) fail to remove the display adapter software while I was using it. You may need to change your display to one of the standard display adapters before you can remove the software. If you boot into safe mode, you should be able to remove the software using the Add/Remove software procedure (as Windows only uses it's own standard VGA driver in safe mode). You can also force Windows to use the Standard VGA driver without using safe mode. This Microsoft Knowledge Base article talks about one way to do that, and I've used this one. However, this Symantec article does, too, and sounds much less complicated. Once you are using the Standard VGA driver, you should be able to uninstall the drivers.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Here's a much easier way to remove the drivers. If you've already uninstalled but some corrupt inf files are still lurking about, use this:

http://www.driverheaven.net/cleaner/

or for info on removing all smartgart, registry cleaning and the ati driver removal tool check out this site and look under system purging. After doing this just reinstall the driver
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

If you still get errors after cleaning out the Vid drivers etc....then I have to ask when the last time you formatted or even defragged was? Maybe its just time for your computer to be cleaned out completely and have everything fresh installed.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

but windows is so good at organization....
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.