Don't get an X800 Pro!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 04:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default Don't get an X800 Pro!!!

The ATI Radeon X800 Pro is an excelent 3DMark03 and Aquamark scorer, and i testify this because my system got excelent scores from both benchmarks. However, when it comes to actual gameplay, I have had nothing but trouble with framerates from this card. I don't know if its driver problems, or what, but in games, even the 9800 Pro performs better. Far Cry was the first game to give me trouble. There were some places in that game where my framerate got as low as 19 FPS. Thats at 1024x768, 4xAA, 8xAF. I complained about it and everybody told be it was just the engine of Far Cry that was sloppy. Then came Doom 3. On Doom 3, i run at 1024x768 on high settings and get around 45FPS, it will go down to 30 during intense times. However, if I throw in 2xAA and 4xAF, i run at about 15-20 fps, which is basically a slide show. People with 9600XTs are able to run it on ultra settings without too many problems, but if I run it on ultra, its virtually unplayable. This is what I get from a $425 card! My benchmarks show otherwise though, so I'll wait till the next catalyst drivers come out and see what happens, but I am definately not happy with this ATI product.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 04:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Did you try the BETA 4.9. It is supposed to be better for DOOM 3.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Huh.
I thought Doom3 had its high-end graphics adjustments geared towards the PCI-Express technology and newer stuff. I could have sworn I heard them say something about being ready for the next generation...

Anyway, I'll have to plug around for some benches on the new geforce 6800 chips.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Best graphics cards for Doom 3

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...809/index.html
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 09:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zerozero
Did you try the BETA 4.9. It is supposed to be better for DOOM 3.
What are the details/info on that? Does it do better for all video cards (both the lower quality and high quality)?
KornNut is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

supposedly mostly for the X800
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Yeah, it's meant for increasing the performance of the X800 series ONLY! It didn't do much for my 9800 Pro. Maybe a 1 or 2 increase in 3dmark03.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I upgraded to Catalyst 4.9, it signifigantly lowered my Aquamark 3 score, but Doom 3 performance is noticable improved.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 03:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Isn't there a newer bench than Aquamark's?

Someone grab a PC-Gamer and look.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

according to ati the beta driver should help all newer radeon cards not just the x800 series.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.