does my motherboard have a agp slot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2002, 09:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 28
Default does my motherboard have a agp slot?

I just bought a motherboard off the net and I thought that there was a AGP slot in it. When i got it, I opened it up and there was no agp slot on it. But on the motherboard there was wiring for the agp slot and a hole on each end of the slot.
SO, can I buy a AGP slot for the motherboard-literally?????

my mobo is a
M935EL
__________________

vdalian is offline  
Old 11-14-2002, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Nope, you have onboard video, no agp slot, call the company, and get an RMA
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-14-2002, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

I'm not exactly sure if on your motherboard if it's even possible to solder a replacement AGP, that is, if it is supported by the Northbridge and there is space for it... but nonetheless I suggest getting another mobo which actually contains an AGP slot.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-14-2002, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default Try PCI

Instead of going through all that cr*p with AGP, just get your hands on a PCI graphics card. This option is good if you want to get your system up as quickly as possible without further hassle. Although, on the other side of the coin, AGP is faster and is the dedicated computer graphics port, If your going to be heavy on the graphics. Buy a new board with AGP.

Murdy
themurdy is offline  
Old 11-14-2002, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

more like, if you EVER plan on doing any gaming, get an agp port, NO good graphics cards come out for PCI anymore.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-14-2002, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Default

That's true because the bus speeds for PCI is considerably slower than AGP. It's a case of cost/performance.

VDALIAN - What are you gonna be using your system for?

Murdy
themurdy is offline  
Old 11-15-2002, 10:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

new mobo's with no AGP? My old compaq mobo has a AGP slot.. and my copm runs at 333
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 11-16-2002, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Just these days the new mobo's with no replacement AGP slot are designed for very cheap machines or in the OEM's - only real reason to consider them is the naive 'Joe-AOL' guy who only needs a computer for surfing the web and nothing else.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 08:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 28
Default

I would use the computer for cad and hardcore games like the new doom that will come out
__________________

vdalian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.