do you guys keep your pc on while sleeping? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: System gets restarted every time I boot
System gets restarted every time I boot 1 50.00%
cmos check sum bad(even after replacing with new cell) 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 03:19 AM   #41 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, i just tested that. I set it to boot up in around a minute, and it did!!!

Thats just so cool

Thanks iceware!
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 10:34 AM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I used to leave a computer server next to me, on 24/4 for about a month, the thing was so loud, and the SCSI drive made a some pretty loud noises too, after a week or two. You get used to the sound.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 06:22 PM   #43 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

that would be useful, being able to sleep in noisy situations.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:24 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

My PC stays on when I'm uploading or downloading...goes off if 1. that's not happening, and 2. I won't be on in the next 8 hours or so...

Noise isn't a problem for me:- it's the dang heat! Now that it's getting cool outside...maybe I can leave it on more :P

PS: this poll needs a 'some of each' :P
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:45 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

i only leave my pc on when i am using it ...it goes off when i gotto bed due to it having nosey fans it has like 8 fans

4 in the frojnt
1 at the bk
cpu fan
and fan blower
and gfx fanm
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 03:25 AM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

yes all the time never really shut my pc off at all
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:36 AM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i keep my computer on while i am sleeping only if it is performing some operation. my strategy: computer is never in idle, if its on it's being used. generally my pc is only left on if it's burning a dvd (of course it's my own original compilation ) or downloading. i configure my pc to shutdown once the operation is complete
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 07:49 AM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by F6Hawk
I have 2 desktops, 1 laptop, and one desktop used as a FTP server. All run 24/7. The one I am on now, I built 5 years ago, and except for a coupla moves & storms, it has been on all the time.

Laptop has been on 24/7 for about 95% of its 3 years in use, except trips when we use it in the car for a DVD player. Then it gets shut off when not in use.

Dell XPS 800 FTP server has been on straight for over a year now, don't even turn it off for storms. If it blows, I quit serving files.
Is ur server public ???

if it is can i have the ip address or Domain name to download from ??
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 08:18 AM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

is it better to turn it off? cause i just keep my computer on
__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 08:31 AM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

i left my Laptop On for 2 years straight and i turned it off once and then it wouldnt start again
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.