do you guys keep your pc on while sleeping? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: System gets restarted every time I boot
System gets restarted every time I boot 1 50.00%
cmos check sum bad(even after replacing with new cell) 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 01:12 AM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to ryodoan Send a message via Yahoo to ryodoan
Default

I heard that it actually takes more power to start up and shut down a ocmputer than it does to just leave it run for the night. But Moniters chew up power so it is best to turn them off.

I tend to leave mine on all night, it has 2 cold cathode fans that i can turn off the lights on, and 1 LED fan that is pretty dim and works as a way to keep me from stubbing my toes in the morning.

I did notice when I lived at home however that it did significantly raise the temperature in my room, so when it was really hot outside the computer got turned off. However since moving into an apartment where the utilities are paid for, I can crank the AC down to 65ยบ F if I really want to and heat is no longer a problem.
__________________

ryodoan is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:43 AM   #32 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: do you guys keep your pc on while sleeping?

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
do you guys keep your pc on while sleeping?
Yes. As Optus Off Peak Downloads are between 1am and 8am.
And my sisyer (Mistress Of The Internet Account) gets the ****s with me when I exceed the monthly bandwidth.


However I normally just leave the basic on. Like I will turn off the monitor, speakers and additional lighting.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 06:23 AM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

My laptop stayed on once for 2 days straight doing Folding@home. I had it on books to let heat dissipate. But it stays off when I'm in bed because it use to wake me up early.
void is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 06:28 AM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

im wait for steam to finish downloading the cache for Half Life 2, CS-S. I just got 1500/256k ADSL and the damn content servers are slow.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 11:49 AM   #35 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

My PC stays on 24/7. Until I need to restart or just feel lie I should.

I use Windows Power Management. Standby... Wake on Keyboard/Mouse.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 09:12 PM   #36 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default

I normally leave mine on when I go to sleep. I do however turn my CRT monitors off but not my LCD monitors. Anyways if any of my machines except the laptops are turned off they just automatically boot at 6 am every morning.
iceware is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 09:23 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i keep it on, so i dont have to waste money on heating bills, and this extra money can go toward more heating devices. MORE PCI CARDS!!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 10:44 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
I normally leave mine on when I go to sleep. I do however turn my CRT monitors off but not my LCD monitors. Anyways if any of my machines except the laptops are turned off they just automatically boot at 6 am every morning.
how do you do that?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:56 AM   #39 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by little_emmynem
I keep my PC on most of the time bcoz i always download windows updates, imaging tools etc....but turn off the monitor as it consumes 75% of the total power of a PC. But if u r running Windows XP Pro/Home, plz check that you have a UPS attached to your PC as power failure causes the data to be corrupt
PooPoo, I say!

1) My monitor automatically shuts off after 10 mins of non-use.

2) Never had a UPS, and I have had MANY PCs incorrectly shutdown nmerous times, zero data corruption thus far. I would estiamte over 200 hard shutdowns in the last year alone among all the comps I manage, and they all run WinXP.

Then again, I am one of those who never disconnects his USB memory stick, I just pull it out...
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 02:32 AM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default

waynejkruse10 I presume you meant how to set your computer to boot at a certain time everyday. All you have to do is enter your BIOS and under the power management section there should be an option called resume by alarm. The option resume by alarm may vary in name depending on your motherboard manufacturer. From there you should be able to set a time and day.
__________________

iceware is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.