do you guys keep your pc on while sleeping? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: System gets restarted every time I boot
System gets restarted every time I boot 1 50.00%
cmos check sum bad(even after replacing with new cell) 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 01:49 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

awhile back i talked to this one sys admin or whateva and he told me they had this one server been running constantly for about a year and then for some reason they had to turn it off for awhile, an hour or so. then when they tried to turn it on again, it didn't.

so sometimes it can also be harmful to turn off your puter.

i turn off my pc when i sleep, usually.
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:58 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i cant hear my pc in my room so yes if i am downloading something.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:41 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
little_emmynem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India BOMBAY
Posts: 155
Send a message via Yahoo to little_emmynem
Default

I keep my PC on most of the time bcoz i always download windows updates, imaging tools etc....but turn off the monitor as it consumes 75% of the total power of a PC. But if u r running Windows XP Pro/Home, plz check that you have a UPS attached to your PC as power failure causes the data to be corrupt
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00 GHZ
ASUS P5LD2 -VM Motherboard
SEAGATE FreeAgent Pro 500GB External HDD
SEAGATE Barracuda 160 GB SATA 7200 RPM
NVIDIA GeForce 8 Series - 8500GT 256MB
ASUS lightscribe Dual-layer DVD burner
SAMSUNG DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive
SAMSUNG 17" LCD/TFT Monitor
SAMSUNG ml-1610 Monochrome Printer
SONY MD RECIEVER
iBall iTower Cabinet with 400W ATX SMPS
TRANSEND 2x1 GB DDR2 667 MHZ RAM
little_emmynem is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:46 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I actually care about the enviroment and my power bill so I shut it off, unless it's doing something
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 08:39 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
I actually care about the enviroment

damn hippies
LoTeX is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:55 AM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Ropponmatsu
Default

If I don't shut it down during the night I just put it in sleep mode.
Ropponmatsu is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 11:24 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

I usually turn it off before bedtime. If i'm downloading large files, i'll leave it on all night, depending on size. But i don't do that too often. I'm too much of a worry wart :P

Plus, if you're not able to gain an advantage from leaving it on, why leave it on?
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 03:38 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

i turn it off every night.
nuke is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 08:56 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214
Default

I leave mine on most of the time, and computers only take up as much as 4 light bulbs, things that produce light or sound don't take up that much energy it's things that move, produce heat or cold that take up the most energy.
__________________
Later!
neo214 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well right now I keep it on because I'm downloading a bunch of files *cough*music,quake4*cough* on shareaza.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.