do u need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2005, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default do u need?

do u need a floppy drive in order to install xp?

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX

nope a cd/dvd rom will do just fine.

just go in to the bios and make it boot 1st so it will pick up the xp disc.

i haven't used a floppy in 5 years

<a href=\";id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"\"/></a>
<a href=\";id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"\"/></a>
<a href=\"\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876

no you dont not need a floppy for the installation of xp, they even make boot disk for cd's now. so floppys are not neccesary.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

You don't need a floppy to install XP. But you might need a floppy to install SATA/RAID drives that came with your MOBO.

A floppy drive costs $8.00 doesn't use hardly any power, most cases have a 3.5 slot. I always put one in my PC's, I know they are really obsolete but, there have been times when I really needed one and didn't have one. That sucks.

If I don't use it, Oh well, at least that one time when I do, it's there.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GrimReaper23's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23

Yea man you really should get it because in a way it is just like buyinh insurance for your car when you think you don't need it then it just pulls through also it really sucks when you need one and you don't got it it is really cheap and I sugest buting one. it is up to you though.
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952

Just hook up one as an external if needed.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.