do they make such a thing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2006, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Question do they make such a thing

I don't know if they make such a thing, but...
I spent 3 days looking online with no luck.

I'm looking for a 3.5" floppy that fits in a 5.25" space without an adapter. I would really like to find something like mitsumi's fa404 but in 5.25" style.

http://www.mitsumi.com/products/FA404.htm

Would really like any input possible.
__________________

alseadon is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you cant just buy a floppy 3.5" drive? They're $15 each
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
I'm looking for a 3.5" floppy that fits in a 5.25" space without an adapter
don't think there is such a thing. the key point being that the measurements you have noted define the type of bay the drives fit in. just get an adapter
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im 99% sure that every case i nthe universe has a floppy drive bay in them, so just buy a card reader and a floppy drive.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 09:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

I wasnt aware anyone used floppy drives anymore!?

I cant remember the last time i used mine!!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the replys.
I have a CM stacker 830 which has no 3.5 bays, and just wanted a clean look.
I reformat fairly often as I'm a cronic upgrader, and use the floppy for sata drivers.
alseadon is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
I wasnt aware anyone used floppy drives anymore!?

I cant remember the last time i used mine!!
Best Buy doesnt carry floppy disks anymore, but they charge $40 for an internal floppy, $60 external.

Staples Business Depot has floppy's, but only private brand, no Maxell, Memorex, etc.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.