Do these go together - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Question Do these go together

Ok here is what I am getting.

Thermaltake Black Highest Xaser III Super Tower without Power Supply, Model "V1000A" -RETAIL

Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / Double Layer/DVD+RW Drive, Model DRU710A, Retail

Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail

ABIT "AV8" K8T800 Pro Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket 939 CPU - Retail

EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card With Free Doom 3Bundle, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, TV-Out/DVI, 8X AGP, Model "256-A8-N349-AX" -RETAIL

AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 512K, L2 Cache, Socket 939 Windows Compatible 64-bit Processor - Retail (limit 5 per customer)

Still not sure about the power supply or Hard drives. So do you think this will gel good together. And what could you recommend for the hardrives and power.
__________________

BIRISH is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

seems alright to me from previous threads
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

Just alright haha damn I guess I have some more thinking to do then.
BIRISH is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Its a good setup so far, for the psu I would suggest something above 500w with high voltage rails. Are you thinking of just normal ata hard drives or sata drives or the raptor drives? How much space are you looking for. If you have the money, I would suggest getting one system hard drive about 80gbs then a different hard drive for everything else. This makes it easier to reformat and back up your files.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Look for anything from Antec for a psu. They make very good psu.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

I am gonna go sata more than likely and I am def gonna do 2 hard drives. I was looking at that one PSU that has the removable power cords so you only use the ones you need. But dont know if that is a good idea or not.

I just added the WD 80GB 7200 sata and the 160 GB sata.
__________________

BIRISH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.