do it myself or not!! about laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default do it myself or not!! about laptop

hi!

have a laptop toshiba satelite A40
and i decide to had it a bit of ram - only have 256, today, so i thought to add an other 256 could be a good point to speed it a bit.

i want to buy it on crucial.com but do you think that something easy to install, or should i ask to a It shop to do it for me...

never open the body of my laptop, but, i can try, but i dont want to do something wrong..

thanks
__________________

atila is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

usually you can add SODIMMS to the bottom of the Laptop. There usually is a panel that you unscrew which lets you access usually 1 or 2 SODIMM slots.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks for your answer.

many pannel, with screw....

but i am going to have a look at them. let s get a screw driver first and then!!!

will be back when discover what's in!!
atila is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

one of them is bound ot be the sodimm panel.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

There should be instructions on Toshiba's site. But memory is always the easiest thing to install, once you find the slots.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea dude go google how to add ram to "ur model pc" i did that when i was a total newbie for a desktop and i found a very good video
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 09:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Hi there, thanks for the advises.

this morning, so i idid open the laptop, and that was quite easy. so i am going to do it on my own.

i just have to order the memory on crucial.com (great web site)

But, one interrogation? on the user's manual , it is writen:
"turn the computer off in bootmode."

i know what do that mean turn it off, but what is the boot mode?

as well, when i will have put the memory, do the laptop is going to recogize it on his own, or i have to do anything?

sorry for the stupid question!!!
atila is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 09:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

not a stupid question, everyone asks that, just shut it down properly, dont hold int he power button to turn it off, the BIOS should recognize it right away, when you turn it on after isntalling it go into your bios andsee if it recognizes the second sodimm, if you don't know how to do this, watch the screen for "presss *this key* to enter setup" if you still dont know boot into windows, right c lick the my computer icon and click properites, and it should tell you how much total ram you have there, if it hasnt changed then you probably have faulty ram.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yeap IBMan nailed that one
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

thx timmer
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.