Do I need to use all 7 screw holes on my motherboard. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Do I need to use all 7 screw holes on my motherboard.

I am putting my uncles computer together right now and I have ran into a problem. I have seven screw holes but only six spacers. Do I need to get another spacer or just leave that screw out?
There is hole for a spacer in the case and the letter "M" next to it. The hole that I don't have a spacer for is about 1 and 3/4 inches from another hole if that matters.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

6 is fine. Heck, I only have five, and 2 of them arnt even screwed in, their just spacing the board.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It will not cost much to get another so just buy one and put it in. Afterall this is almost like the example below but it's over exagerated.


You take something apart and when you put it back together you find that the thing you took apart and "extra parts" you decide not to put them in and moments latter when you turn the power on it starts smoking....
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
It will not cost much to get another so just buy one and put it in. Afterall this is almost like the example below but it's over exagerated.


You take something apart and when you put it back together you find that the thing you took apart and "extra parts" you decide not to put them in and moments latter when you turn the power on it starts smoking....

I HARDLY doubt not having an extra screw would make something do that. The only way it would smoke is if he didn't put the heatsink on.

BTW, your in god shape man. Thats plenty enough.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Ok, is the spacer a required thing for grounding or anything like that. I mean will I have problems without it?
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.