do I need a new power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2005, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default do I need a new power supply?

Here is what I got.

P4 3.0 GHz, 1024 MB PC 3200 (4 modules), 160 gig HD, DVD rom, DVD RW, Audigy 2 ZS, and the cheapo Radeon X 300 PCI express vid card.

I do basic stuff plus play far cry. Believe it or not, far cry was playing on medium settings w/o lag when I had 512, I upgraded to 1 gig and now I'm starting to think I want a better vid card too.

I'm going to wait for prices to go down on the Geforce 6600GT vid card, but when I get that is a 300 watt power supply going to be enough?
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

one thing to consider is I use an LCD monitor, it only consumes 40 watts for normal operation, compared to a lot of people who use CRT's which normally takes up 110 watts.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

i dont think so. If your system begins to have problems though, spend around $40 for a decent PSU.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

any definite signs in particular to look for to know when you need a stronger power supply?
macdawg is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default

yeah it tends to go *BANG!**SIZZLE SIZZLE* *SMOKE POURS OUT* oh dear.

At least you havent had a psu go while your head was in the case at the time...kinda feels worse.
dakta is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
one thing to consider is I use an LCD monitor, it only consumes 40 watts for normal operation, compared to a lot of people who use CRT's which normally takes up 110 watts.
I thought that monitors get their power from a wall socket and not the video card.

Macdawg, I would go for about a 400W PSU for a system like that.

Quote:
any definite signs in particular to look for to know when you need a stronger power supply?
Other than it smoking, fizzling, etc, you might get random reboots.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
one thing to consider is I use an LCD monitor, it only consumes 40 watts for normal operation, compared to a lot of people who use CRT's which normally takes up 110 watts.
Monitors use power from the walls

You defiantly need a new PS if you want to ever have a 6600GT. I recomend a thermaltake td-420AD
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Thanks guys, I'll be sure to get a new power supply when I get a video card then.
macdawg is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

and remember, watts doesn't matter, the amps @12V and the brand matters
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
At least you havent had a psu go while your head was in the case at the time...kinda feels worse.
I'm guessing that happened to you? But anyways, get a 400W PSU at least, make sure its 12v......If your looking to get a GREAT psu, antec and thermaltake are good, but if your looking for cheaper ones, aspire makes decent psus.
__________________

Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.