Do I need a new motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default Do I need a new motherboard?

I'm having trouble with the dc jack (this has happened to me before, my computer is an HP pavilion zd7160us). Here is a picture of what it currently looks like. Note the electrical burning on the board - do I simply need to re-solder a new part or does the entire motherboard need replacing?



Thank you in advance.

-Jim
__________________

schwartzyjaimy is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

So what is your computer doing, is it simply not powering on?

Can i also get a longer shot of that picture.



Honestly I think that picture looks like a bad manafcturing process
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

It will power on, provided I finagle the power input around (the problem is the dc jack will not consistently accept the ac power input). More or less I cannot charge my battery.

My question is this a problem with the motherboard, or simply a problem with the part (this is beneath the board where the solderings are shown - the rest of the dj jack appears to be in shape)

It appears that around the soldering there is a burned area on the board - would this cause a malfunction in the board or could I simple re-attatch or replace the dj jack?
schwartzyjaimy is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

if the thing give u trouble and it is still in warranty, then send it right back.....

or you will regret u don't send it before warranty run out and the darn thing suddently don't work....

:-)
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I may send it in soon. Actually the warranty is up, but I just purchased a 3 year extension for it.

I was just hoping to get some feedback as to whether or not I could just replace the part myself - as this would save me around a month without my laptop.
schwartzyjaimy is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Personally since it's just a poor connection, I would personally resolder it together if I am comfortable.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Personally since it's just a poor connection, I would personally resolder it together if I am comfortable.
Are you certain that's all it could be - no short or problem with the motherboard?
schwartzyjaimy is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Im about 95% certain, if your uncomfortable just use the warranty.

If i had a warranty, I would never take my laptop apart (I havnt, suprisingly) and it's someone elses problem.

My touchpad on my lappy is broken and I have denied the urge to fix it myself
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Im about 95% certain, if your uncomfortable just use the warranty.

If i had a warranty, I would never take my laptop apart (I havnt, suprisingly) and it's someone elses problem.

My touchpad on my lappy is broken and I have denied the urge to fix it myself
exactly my reason why to send it back even I can fix it easily...

if u still got warranty, they can't ignore you...

if u void it or don't have it... you are on your own :-(

unless u got a extremely helpful and friendly respresentative.... who is in good mood too, lol
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Tech support mentioned they will continue to fix the product even if previous attempts have been made by a third party.
__________________

schwartzyjaimy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.