Do I need to ground myself when building a computer. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2005, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Do I need to ground myself when building a computer.

I've put parts in a bunch of computers without grounding myself to anything but I'm putting a full computer together tommorow and was wondering if I should ground myself and how?

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425


Touch the outer, metal rim of the case or get yourself a grounding wrist strap, like this:


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706

wow!!! thats hilarious...

I just work in a static free environment...

I cant believe they actually make those...

although it might be a good invesment for my work...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078

Wow I'm not very good at finding things apparantly. I looked on Newegg for one of those and didn't find one. Could I get that at like circuit city or bestbuy? I checked Radioshack today and they didn't have them. Plus I don't want to wait for shipping.
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 93

I got mine at radio shack and they have them at futureshop as well (which is like bestbuy).
Crazed_climber is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078

Gosh darn it. I know that half the people at radioshack don't know what they are talking about. Why o Why did I listen to the lady when she said they didn't have any and looked like she didn't even know what I was talking about. I bet they did have some.
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 12:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

yep thats why radio shacks no more in canada...
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

surely touching the metal part on the back of ur case only grounds you if ur kettlr plug is plugged in to ur power supply anyway? i always remove this when working inside my pc. you can ground urself by touching a radiator at regular intervals.

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.