Do I Need a Better Power Supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2004, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Default Do I Need a Better Power Supply?

The computer I'm gonna build:
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+($223)
Motherboard: MSI K8N Neo Platnium nForce3-250Gb($124)
RAM: Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200($233)
Video Card: ATI x800pro ($425)
Case: Antec SLK3700-BQE($77)
Sound Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 zs($80)
Hard Drive: Seagate 160GB 7200RPM SATA($116)
CD/DVD ROM: Lite-On Black 8X DVD+/-RW Drive, Model SOHW-812S ($71)
Floppy: NEC 1.44MB Black Internal Floppy Drive, OEM ($11)

The case comes with a 350W antec psu, quiet edition or something like that, for someone's who's not overclocking, do I need a stronger PSU? If so, I heard thermaltake is good, any recomendations?
__________________

PsyCho_BoB is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

Check for yourself
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
Default

yes you need a better power supply, that antec will not hold up. From personal experience I only recommend fortron for psu's, the thermaltake ones are pretty bad.

Here, get this psu http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-968&depa=1

You will not regret it, their psu's rock.
SewerBeing is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

negative.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 01:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

roger
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.