Do Extension Wires Exist For The Front Case Cables? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2008, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Do Extension Wires Exist For The Front Case Cables?

Ive been given the task of fixing a computer that a man stabbed in a drunken rage.

What his attack damaged was the power button on the case. The computer still turns on if i connect the power pins with a screwdriver. I happened to have a very old PC case spare so mounted the motherboard into this. However rather than the usual individual front case cables there is only a pin connector block that has been designed for the original mobo in this case. It is not long enough and the wrong holes are blocked for the mobo im using.

So i am asking, rather than having to get a new case, if there were extension wires for this sort of thing? I reckoned they'd only be a couple of quid if so.

Thanks.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Do Extension Wires Exist For The Front Case Cables?

you could use the cables from the old broken case and solder them onto the correct wires on the new case.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Do Extension Wires Exist For The Front Case Cables?

As above they are very easy to extend as they send quite low quality signal over short distances so can take abuse quite well. If you don't have acess to any old cases then hifi wire will work or any other signal wire you have and just cut the middle then extend as needed and solder+insulation tape both ends. There probably commercially available adapters available
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case choosing with a twist nukeman8 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-11-2008 06:58 AM
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
New front panel in old case...how would you do it? CalcProgrammer1 Overclocking and Modding 0 12-08-2007 01:05 AM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.