Display options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2015, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default Display options

Hello all im on the search for a display and need some options. It will be used for a vehicle gauge cluster. It be connected via Bluetooth or canbus. Now i have seen people using tablets with an android app called shadowdash but would really like for something that powers on automatically when power is applied intead of having to power it on. Their are dedicated displays but cost upwards of 800 to 2000$ and im trying to keep it relatively cheap. If i have to use a tablet i would like for it to have physical front facing buttons and have a charge point seperate from the mini usb. If anyone has ideas or knows exactly what i could use let me know.
__________________

turbocelica85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Display options

Tons of threads on XDA of people modding a Nexus 7 to install in their dashes. Some examples:
Nexus 7 clean car install with backup cam | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
[Discussion/Tips] Nexus 7 as Car-Tablet. | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
Nexus 7 car dash install + OTG charge + DVB-… | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
Jeep Grand Cherokee - removable dash mount | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
Nexus 7 car install build thread | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
Nexus 7 in-dash install in European Toyota A… | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums
New Edge Mustang Nexus 7 Install | Nexus 7 | XDA Forums

Just search 'car install' on the General board there and you'll see a lot of examples of people that have done it:
Nexus 7 General - XDA Forums

If you do go this route, would recommend pairing the OBDII adapter you have (if you have one - if not, I recommend one of the OBDLink products as they have auto-on/off for the adapter itself) with the Torque app - which connects to the adapter and you can customize your gauge clusters to however you want.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default Re: Display options

Thanks for the info. Im using a stand alone engine management.
turbocelica85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU cooling Options? GPU cooling options? Gothch1ck New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-29-2011 07:43 PM
Taking Advantage Of Thunderbirdís Email Display Options Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-01-2009 01:42 PM
Cannot get a display, cannot fix display issue with no display Rgortiz3 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-15-2009 06:34 PM
Powerpoint 2003 display options SupremeRuler99 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-02-2006 07:08 PM
Problems with display options... Gameboy Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-06-2005 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.