display adapter - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2003, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default display adapter

bought second hand laptop. was working fine. now when it boots up the screen size is the size of a postcard rather than the full size.

have tried to change settings, but doesn't let me increase screen size.

apparently it's something to do with the display adapter but don't know what to do to fix it

any thoughts?
__________________

lordrom is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Default

update the driver
__________________

pcnytmare is offline  
Old 07-27-2003, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default

i'd figured that much out.

how do i know what driver i need and where can i get it from and how do i re install it?
lordrom is offline  
Old 07-28-2003, 05:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

best place to look for drivers for a laptop is from the support page from the manufacturer. If it's not listed on the support page, a quick email to the support department can usually procure at least information on where to get the software. That may not be the only problem though..

An LCD display is touchy and if it's not getting the right amount of current (electricity) across the entire face of the display it could cause this kind of problem. That isn't something that can be fixed. Is there any discoloration, streaking or "oil on water" shapes around the outside of the image? If so then this would be an indication of a problem with the LCD controller.

For a little more information on that, what occured prior to this happening? New software, addition of a pcmcia card, update to windows, ANYTHING. Retrace your steps for the useage just prior to this. If you can, roll the system back prior to any changes that you made and find out if this corrects it (using either a roll back program on the system or scanreg from a DOS boot). Alot of times something as (presumably) innocuous as installing Kazaa can pooch your registry and there's the cause of your problem.
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.