Disk Boot Failure - A Prompt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2005, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Angry Disk Boot Failure - A Prompt

The DVD & CD rom drive on my Proteva Win 98 computer would not work after being fix a year ago because of a virus. I saw that they were not hooked up. Hooked them both up ( hope fully right ), turned on pc and it gave me

" Disk Boot Failure . Insert System Disk and press enter".

I figured I must of lost everything that I had on my computer anyway (no backup disk , I use this computer for music juke box) so I inserted the small floppy startup disk. It then gave me a A: prompt .

Not I dont know what to do . Did I make a mistake by not taking it somewhere to have them do it. Can anyone tell me step by step what to do. Is there anyway getting it all back ?

dinkydo53545 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

Sounds like a simple configuration error. First and most obvious have disconnected all the CD-ROM drives you connected and powered the machine backup to see if will boot that way? If yes then we can take it to the next levels in the troubleshooting process

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2

Thanks for answering back.

I tried that and still got the same "Disk Boot Failure " . I was looking at the below website #8 to show me what needed connected.


#8 Cable B had been hooked up to my Nero Burner on top (which didnt work since they worked on it).

Cable C wasnt hooked to anything because the Black wide connecter on it , is not wide enough to fit either the DVD drive or the Burner drive.

So since the B cable had two of the connectore attached to it. I put the top Black connecter in the top drive and the second connect to the dvd drive. Does that make sense

Was looking at that website just for a ideal of where the cable went. Too bad there isn't a class to show you how to work on this part of the computer.
dinkydo53545 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.