disabling onboard video - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2005, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
Default disabling onboard video

I just installed a new video card in my system. I previously used onboard video, which of course sucked. I tried to disable the onboard through the bios. with out much luck. I even called tech support for the card, he couldn't help. I know it's there somewhere because I was there once before. Now I just can't seem to find it. If anybody could point me in the right direction I would very much appreciate it.

Taz202 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694

Do you have a "techie" friend that might be able to help?

I think that would be the best way to get to the proper BIOS option. It has been my experiance that BIOS systems vary dramatically from board to board, so it would be really difficult for someone to say go here then set this to bla bla bla.

your other option is to keep on trying. Go through every and i mean EVERY screen/option in the BIOS. you'll probably find it in some obscure place that you were sure it wasn't.. good luck!

Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

It is most likely in Integrated peprihals
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96

I also wanted to add that my system resources are not any better than they where before. My new card is running or at least it appears to be running at the moment. I have access to it and everything. I was told that with a seperate video card my resources should be freed up quite a bit. Is it possible that both onboard and the card can run simultaneously? My machine does act a little strange.
Taz202 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 04:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198

yeah it should be possible to run both if u want to have dual monitor setup but u have to look for it in BIOS, and about the onboard video thats weird, most onboard video stops running when u stick ur new videocard in
contry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.