Disabling hyperthreading??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2003, 09:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default Disabling hyperthreading???

I helped a friend of mine purchase a Compaq Presario S5400NX desktop for the specific purpose of recording/editing music with Digidesign ProTools.

Digidesign specifies that Hyperthreading must be disabled before installing ProTools. Easy enough, right? Just disable Hyperthreading in the BIOS, right? Wrong.

I couldn't find where to disable Hyperthreading in the BIOS. So I contacted Compaq support. Here is their answer:

-----------------------------
The option to disable Hyperthreading in the BIOS is not available in your model. However, you would be able to run the software in a compatibility mode. For more information on how to run in a software in a compatibility mode, please visit the following website:

http://tinyurl.com/q2vz
------------------------------

How can the option to disable Hyperthreading not be available? I always had reservations with Compaqs...but the features and price were right. Now I know why I had reservation.

Does anyone know if there is anything that can be done to disable Hyperthreading, or are we S.O.L?

Much thanks in advance.
__________________

wildonion is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

it is impossible to disable hyperthreading, this is handled by the processor only, not user. this is what compaq was telling you also, but in a politically correct manner. there is something wrong with digidesign instructions or you did not understand them correctly.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Exactly what ek said. Hperthreading is built in the new P4 processors.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
it is impossible to disable hyperthreading, this is handled by the processor only, not user. this is what compaq was telling you also, but in a politically correct manner. there is something wrong with digidesign instructions or you did not understand them correctly.
I have the option to enable/disable H/T in bios. Not sure if the switch in the bios actually does anything, but it does have the option.

As far as the compaq goes...no idea. Never owned one.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 12:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Compaq tweaks the BIOSes on their computers to keep people from f***ing them up. I have a new Compaq as well and the BIOS on it doesnt even show the CPU's core multiplier and voltage settings, nor does it allow any access to tweakable subsystems. Pretty ****ty if you ask me.
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 01:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to illippinno
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
it is impossible to disable hyperthreading, this is handled by the processor only, not user.
actually, i have the option of enabling or disabling HT. it may depend on the motherboard, i'm guessing. because i have the asus p4p800, which from what i read, was meant for ht processors. so in the bios, theres an option for me to enable or disable HT.

but yeah, thats kinda weird that some pc arent able to have the option of enabling or disabling ht.
illippinno is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

thats's very strange, .... i wonder why you would need to disable it at all though?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 01:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to illippinno
Default

i dont either. and honestly, i dont see the difference with using HT or without. I mean, i recently upgraded from a 2.4 P4 to a 2.8 P4 w/ HT, and nothing really feels different. performance on games and sound and photo programs are about the same also, so yeah.
illippinno is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 02:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Of course theres an option to enable/disable HT, and yes it is specific to the motherboard. The thing is, some people notice a lag in applications with hyperthreading enabled. It's useful if say ur playing a game and music and and antivirus and firewall are all on at the same time. I saw a guy on some forums who posted pics of him testing the HT technology by having like 7 or 8 instances of Quake 3 on at the same time. Without HT u usually get like 200 fps on one of the games and the other one is totally frozen. With HT enabled, all the 8 instances of Quake were operational and each one was at around 30 fps.
TranquilityBase is offline  
Old 12-31-2003, 09:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Well, Compaq informed me of a BIOS update that may allow disabling of Hyperthreading. I'll try that on my friend's computer later tonight.

As far as why Hyperthreading is required to be disabled...I don't know. I think the manual says it degrades performance in some way...but I'm not sure, as the Pro Tools isn't mine....and I haven't had a chance to read the manual at length.
__________________

wildonion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.