Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2007, 10:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

i'm not so sure about that, the only power saving features i can think of would probably limit the lifetime of the drive.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

I have five hard drives, including a Raptor. All together, they're still not very loud.

the earlier version Raptors are loud when accessing stuff, but ADFD Raptors have that fixed.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitestick View Post
i'm not so sure about that, the only power saving features i can think of would probably limit the lifetime of the drive.
An energy saving feature slows down the wear and tear on a drive by seeing it go into it's own form of standby mode when not being accessed frequently such as a good large sized storage drive. Not too many are going to rush into a 1tb drive to use that as an OS drive while the capacity spells storage and backup.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 11:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

My hard drive makes them annoying noises.

$$$
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 07:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

I had one old Socket A case back like 3 or 4yrs. ago where you could hear the drive when it was busy due to the way the case was made apparently. It seemed to amplify any sounds! That drive ran until just lately when Windows couldn't be reinstalled and after deleting the existing primary a new one couldn't be created.

When test lately? no sounds heard! Other then in that one case it remained quiet until it now can't be seen by GParted even as well as the drive manufacturer's drive diagnostics. For seeing 98 go on an old case that was one of two old drives tried where it met it's match since the second is up and running. That was the first WD drive that ever went doa here in a good number of years. "R.I.P. WD"!
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 10:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

ah ya i have one of the older raptors w/ the 8mb cache.. still a very fast drive... almost full though, 74gb.. still loads w/ xp w 2 bars!!!

but the drive is louder than my caviar.. but not by alot...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 04:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

Was that a Sata 1 Raptor model? That would see a molex as well as sata type power connector and even include a jumper for selecting drive mode not cable position.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 08:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

all Raptor's are SATA 1.
and no, they don't need jumpers. But they do have a molex connector as well as a SATA power connector.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 09:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

The initial Sata 1 drives by WD have jumpers on them. Sata II is the jumper free type drive if you review WD's support site and look up any specific model for installation information. One set of instructions for WD Sata 1 models is titled: "How to enable and disable SSC (spread spectrum clocking) on WD Serial ATA hard drives." Answer

Question: "How to physically install a Serial ATA drive in a computer system." referring to Sata 1 type drives. Answer
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 10:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Disable that really annoying hard drive access sound in Antec 900?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
The initial Sata 1 drives by WD have jumpers on them. Sata II is the jumper free type drive if you review WD's support site and look up any specific model for installation information. One set of instructions for WD Sata 1 models is titled: "How to enable and disable SSC (spread spectrum clocking) on WD Serial ATA hard drives." Answer

Question: "How to physically install a Serial ATA drive in a computer system." referring to Sata 1 type drives. Answer
my Raptor has no jumpers, and it's SATA I

But I've noticed a lot of SATA II drives that do use jumpers, to switch between SATA I and SATA II
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive wont boot steak1986 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-21-2007 06:15 PM
hard drive not recognized brydon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-16-2007 06:10 PM
access notebook external hard drive without formatting snoopyAU Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-31-2007 12:37 AM
Hard Drive may be DAMAGE, trying to get data off an old hard drive. help! yaminohaka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 07-24-2007 09:56 PM
Mother's comp is infected with spyware/malware viralmalice Viruses, Spyware and Malware 13 07-05-2007 12:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.