disable a hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2004, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Question disable a hard drive

Is there a way of disabling a hard drive while the computer is active? I have a removable hard drive rack to allow me to switch storage drives but every time I want to swap it I need to switch the computer off.

Does anyone know of software of hardware to allow me to do this?
__________________

chris_wilson_51 is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Wont windows XP do this for you, in the remove hardward in the bottom right hand corner of the start bar? It looks like a green arrow....
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to Toshiro Send a message via Yahoo to Toshiro
Default

I think that's only for USB devices... My digital cameral, MP3 player, and all my game pads work that way... but my old parallel-port drives (old ZIP100 drive, old external CD-ROM unit, etc), have to be removed while the PC is powered down.

EDIT: I forgot it's for PCMCIA cards as well. And it's not just WinXP, my Win98 laptop does it too.

I believe the term for this is "Hot Swap" and as far as I know parallel port devices are not Hot Swappable.

Assuming Chris's setup is external and uses a parallel port.
If it's internal, using any of the standard internal ports (IDE, SCSI, etc) then no, you can't disable it while the comp's running.
__________________
Make: eMachines
OS: WinXP Pro
Mobo: Gigabyte 8VM533M-RZ
CPU: 2.2GHz Intel Celeron
Vid: Gigabyte NVidia MX 4000 (128 MB DDR, TV out)
Sound: onboard
RAM: 512MB DDR
HD: 40GB (1:3 partitioned), 34GB
Drives: DVD R/RW and 16x DVD-ROM
Browser: FireFox
ISP: AT&T/SBC Yahoo! DSL
Toshiro is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 03:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default

You are looking for a RAID array.

See:
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/perf/raid/index.htm

Also:
http://www.arcoide.com/products/raid...5baymount.html
http://www.arcoide.com/technology/index.html
billzhills is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.