DirectX 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2006, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default DirectX 10

Will the Evga geforce 7950 gx2 be able to run DirectX 10? If not Why not? it has lots of strength...?
__________________

keyser09 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

it should...wouldnt that be like a fx5200 running dx9? it was made for dx7...
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

The 7950 GX2 is not a DirectX 10 card, it can play games like Crysis which are DirectX10 but you'll be rendering it in DirectX 9, so no new DX10 effects. I would just wait to get a G80 card which are DX10 and they come out in November.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

aw man i hope they find a way to mod the 7950 or something cause i spent like 600 bucks on it and im totally broke!(3k total for whole computer) am i able to sli my 7950 with the new g8000 when it comes out?
keyser09 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 09:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

7950GX2 is a waste of money right now with the G80 so close. If you must go 7 series, go cheap, like say a 7900GS. In a couple weeks you'll get a full fledged 8800GTX for the same price as the 7950GX2.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

lol kinda late for that since ive already got ill try to sell but i want to know if i can sli it with a g8 can any1 tell me?
keyser09 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 10:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
The 7950 GX2 is not a DirectX 10 card, it can play games like Crysis which are DirectX10 but you'll be rendering it in DirectX 9, so no new DX10 effects.
yeah. there will be no mods, firmware won't fix it as the support for DX is entirely hardware. sure it will operate with DX10 but it won't use DX10 effects, it will use the DX9 compatibility renderers in DX10.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

o but do you know if i can sli my 7950 with a 8000 when it comes out?or how will that work...?can i use half for dx10 and like half for dx9?
keyser09 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no. sli requires identical GPUs.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

lol this is the same guy from this thread

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=127893

funny stuff
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.