Direct3D Games on the putz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2003, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default Direct3D Games on the putz

Dont really know if this is in the right place, but ive been having problems with my new system running an athlon XP 2600 processor with three fans two cd-drives, an ati radeon 9600pro on a 300w power supply. Direct3D games i ran would restart the system when i tried to play them, but when i tried a geforce fx 5200 graphix card they just crash to the desktop. I have the latest video drivers and directx 9.0b and the motherboard drivers which came with my asus a7v8x-x motherboard. One of the games i was using to test the problem was RIse of nations which before had crashed seconds after starting the game. I also tested with halflife which works well in openGl but also crashed quickly in Direct3d. I replaced the power supply with a 350w one and now rise of nations will run for a while, once it ran for 20 minutes, freezing three times and then crashing like it did before. Half-life in d3d now runs for a while, but the input of both mouse and keyboard is delayed about half a second like really bad lag, in the single player. Any help at all is welcome.

fucrate is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

well some people still have trouble with newer drivers, when i couldn't get sound in one of my games i installed new drivers then i didn't get sound at all.
i rolled back the drivers and the sound worked in the system AND the game

drivers are always picky

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

does it tell you what doesn't work before crashing?
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2003, 04:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

compute your power requirements here

although that might not be the case with your pc. sorry no clues.
whats your OS? ram size and make? how many hard drives are you running?
devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.