Dilemma with an old computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Dilemma with an old computer...

I have an old computer that i found on the side of the road (free garage sale).

Its an IBM from 1991, has an 80MB hard drive, 2MB of memory (2 1MB sticks), old-school Mitsubishi disk drive, PS2 ports, and 2 video sources, chipset and card.

The interface for the video card is some type of AGP or something, i guess "IBM interface".

I was wondering which OS i would install on this beast? DOS, Windows 95, Linux?

I have a Windows 95 CD, but where could i get DOS for free, since its so old?

Here is a picture of it, its hard to find:
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Maybe http://www.freedos.org/
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Thanks

Another thing, would that old P.O.S. computer handle a CD-ROM drive? I don't know if the actual PC would like that. I mean, the technology is too new
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Thanks

Another thing, would that old P.O.S. computer handle a CD-ROM drive? I don't know if the actual PC would like that. I mean, the technology is too new
Probably not. I guess if you can find a free cd drive at a free road side garage sale, get it and try it out
Erich K is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I have 2 CD-ROM drives and a DVD-ROM drive sitting around. I just dont know if that IBM could handle a CD-ROM drive.

I have another old system (AST) that can't handle a CD-ROM drive, and its on Windows 98.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Well, how does the hard drive connect to the motherboard? If it is with an IDE cable, try using an IDE optical drive. Just make sure you have the drivers for that device handy... maybe on a 5" floppy... lol
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Dilemma with an old computer...

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
The interface for the video card is some type of AGP or something, i guess "IBM interface".
probabbly ISA (brown, bigger than PCI)

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I was wondering which OS i would install on this beast? DOS, Windows 95, Linux?
windows 95 on 2MB RAM and an 80MB hard drive? good luck!
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The Hard Drive connects via IDE, and the floppy drive is the standard 3.5" type.

Well, it can run on Windows 3.1, very nicely
Since it only needs 10MB HD space and 1MB of RAM.

Its going to be hard to find a copy of 3.1
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Re: Dilemma with an old computer...

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
probabbly ISA (brown, bigger than PCI)
.

If I remember correctly, aren't ISA slots BLACK? Perhaps it veries from system to system....



Talldude, I have a copy of 3.11 installed on an old 486 machine I have sitting in the closet of my old room at my parents house... I am PRETTY SURE that comp has a functional optical drive. I have to stop by there on my way home tonight, so maybe I will pick it up and see if it still works...
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

« Space | Scanners »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.