Digital Camera Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 11:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Digital Camera Question...

Ok I have the Sony HandyCam, Model: DVR-TRV460 now I bought this a while back, and so far I haven't used it that much. I don't know if you guys could do some research because I don't have a clue... It says it is a Digital Video Camera Recorder, but it records them to a Digital HI-8, (a tape)... but it also has a memory card, for like taking pictures. The pictures suck its like a 640x480 res. MAX and you can also record videos on the memory stick but its HORRIBLE!!!. Anyway I was wondering if its a Digital-8 can I upload the Digital 8 or something to my computer? Because right now all I can put on my computer is the pics or vids off of the memory card but the quality is below worst quality. its terrible.... and help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

__________________

AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
MSI 970A G46
8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
eVGA 660 GTX Ti
128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

nope. you can't update it. sorry.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I've done that at school. You just put it on the VCR mode, push play, and it should upload to your computer. Granted at school, we were using the crappy IMacs, and IMovie, so I don't know what you can use, but I know I've done it, and it should work.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Yes you can upload it.

Your Digital Hi-8 has the exact some resolution quality as a MiniDV or even a DVD camcorder. They all record at 520 Lines of resolution.

You are able to transfer to your computer. There either should be a 1394 Firewire connection someone on that camcorder to plug in to the comp.

PS. You do need a program for the uploading; there are thousands out there. I've had personal experience with Pinnacle Studio 9 -- its seriously the easiest thing I have ever used.

PPS. If you cannot find a 1394 connection on that camcorder you might have to just use a "movie box" -- http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1064607747431 -- You just connect the cables that you usually connect to your VCR/TV to play the camcorder; you connect those cables to the back on this box and from there a USB connection from the movie box to your computer will transfer the files from your Cam to PC.

RaiN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

tox, lol, dude, same with me in tv productions.. lol, oh god rendering those movies took forever...

The kicker is there was final cut pro.. and that seemed to actually work faster, lol. too bad I was used to n00b imovie though.

Now, if your comp doesn't have firewire ports, you can always buy those firewire pci cards. cost about $20.

handycams should be firewire, so that movie box stuff shouldn't be necessary.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

^ Useless post. gg troll.
RaiN is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Your computer doesn't need a firewire port. Just your camera. It should have came with a USB to Firewire cord, so you can plug your camera into your computer. I hope you get it to work.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.