The differnce between 1 DIMM and 2 DIMM of 512mb memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2004, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default The difference between 1 DIMM and 2 DIMM of 512mb memory

Hi,

I'm new to this forum. Can anyone tell me what the difference is between 512 Mb 1 DIMM OR 512 MB of 2 DIMM ram? Which is better, 1 DIMM or 2 DIMM? I'm clueless when it comes to technical things with a computer? The person I ordered from was supposed to give me 512 MB of 2 DIMM but only gave me 1. I'm wondering if I shoud call him back and have him change it. Could someone explain the difference?

Also, has anyone had any experience with the Dell Inspiron 600m with the Pentium M centrino mobile technology? I know it's not as powerful as the pentium 4, but it's a lighter notebook. I do a lot of multitasking and some photo editing but I'm not a gamer so I don't need lightening speed.

I would appreciate any comments. Thanks in advance!
__________________

Sandy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

It depends on what kind of mobo you have. If it supports a dual channel config of it's ram, then you should have 2 sticks rather than 1. 1 stick wont run in dual channel mode.

Here's a really good pdf on dual channel and ddr:
http://www.kingston.com/newtech/MKF_...whitepaper.pdf
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I tried the link but the article you suggested wasn't there. It sounds like I should have 2 DIMM?
Sandy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

try that link now (I edited)
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
It sounds like I should have 2 DIMM?
Probably, again, it depends on your motherboard. What motherboard do you have?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I'm a techie virgin, I haven't got a clue. All I know is that I purchased a machine with a pentium M chip. Does that help?
Sandy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That does help. As far as I can tell (someone correct me if I'm wrong), the cpu that you have (pentium M) and it's chipset doesn't support dual channel. Therefore, it wouldn't matter if you have one stick of ram or two.

Here's some links for more info on your laptop and it's cpu:
http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets...s855fam+855gm&
http://www1.us.dell.com/content/prod...&id=inspn_600m

By the way, welcome to tech-forums
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks elbotrop! The article looks like it has a lot of good information. I'll read it and then post again if I'm still confused. Have a peaceful night.
Sandy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks so much for the information and the nice welcome. Here is what I have:

512MB,DDR,266MHz,
1DIMM

Inspiron 600m,Intel Pentium M Processor 715(1.5GHz),14.1-in XGA,with
32MB Video

Intel PRO/Wireless 2200 (802.11b/g) Internal Wireless

I think I paid too much, but that is another story.

Thanks again.
Sandy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Wow, you know where to find the information. I went to the Dell link you provided and it says:

256 MB DDR SDRAM standard, upgradable to 2 GB maximum

2 SoDIMM sockets, both are user-accessible

If both are accessible, would'nt it make sense to have 2 DIMM?

I'm getting tired, have to get up for work tomorrow. I'll look forward to your reply

Thanks again
__________________

Sandy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.