Different brand video cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Different brand video cards

I notice at stores and online that when you buy a video card, it is usually a BFG or a Gigabyte, or some other company. What exactly sets these apart from a standard Nvidia or ATI video card? Are they just overclocked or are there different chips used?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Companies like ATI and NVIDIA provide the Graphics Processing Units. Other companies purchase the GPUs off of the graphics companies, and then customize their own graphics card to meet a specific type of audience. They have slightly altered specs, such as different clock speeds, memory etc... .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Well, you should know that nvidia doesnt make any of their own boards. They just license the technology to their partners.

the different compaines use the same base chip, but have slightly different configurations on the boards. The best manufacturers for Nvidia and ATI respectivly are eVGA and Sapphire.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Oh, okay thats what I thought. Is there any way to find out which company's 6600GT I have in my system? When I ordered my computer it just said 6600GT on the website.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

They should've sent you a motherboard box with a bunch of manuals, and other goodies in it. Look through the manuals, it should be in there somewhere.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
Well, you should know that nvidia doesnt make any of their own boards. They just license the technology to their partners.

the different compaines use the same base chip, but have slightly different configurations on the boards. The best manufacturers for Nvidia and ATI respectivly are eVGA and Sapphire.
I disagree with Sapphire

I think the best ATI cards are made by HIS, powercolor, and ATI themselves.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
Oh, okay thats what I thought. Is there any way to find out which company's 6600GT I have in my system? When I ordered my computer it just said 6600GT on the website.
i'm guessing it's leadtek

just open your case and look at your 6600gt's heat sink/fan and tell us what it says on it/the picture on it if any
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Saphire makes all ATI branded card now anyways... their one in the same
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

i just know that my sapphire 9200 rocked much better than my friends ATI 9200. Now he has a 6800 GT and im waiting for the system in my sig to get here...
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

a 9200 is a 9200, your friends ATI was probolyl a 9200SE
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.