Difference between cl2 and cl2.5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default Difference between cl2 and cl2.5

Please can somebody explain the difference between the 2, and explain if they are cross compatible.
__________________

Blanchy is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Here are some links:
http://www.sysopt.com/articles/latency/
http://www.memorysuppliers.com/caslatwhatis1.html
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

You also get better stability with a higher CAS Latency at the sacrifice of alittle speed
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You also get better stability with a higher CAS Latency at the sacrifice of alittle speed
yeah thats generally why you'll see a CPU-Z screenshot of someone who has a nice high OC but when they go to the MEMORY section they have timings like 2-3-2-11 lol its so they can gain stability from the memory.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
yeah thats generally why you'll see a CPU-Z screenshot of someone who has a nice high OC but when they go to the MEMORY section they have timings like 2-3-2-11 lol its so they can gain stability from the memory.
Yes exactly and also why the top vendors like OCZ and GEiL and their fastest OC memories at 2.5 or 3 CL
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.