Difference between 256Mb and 128Mb on Video Cards - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2005, 06:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It all really depends on what yer going to do with yer card. If yer just going to play medium-weight games, it's not so important. If yer playing heavy games, or you're doing a lot of graphics work or modeling, that extra bit of memory is a real lifesaver.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

256MB of memory can also accomodate AA/AF. if you have ever played a game like Doom3 at 6xAA/16xAF, Ultra quality, on a 128MB card, you'll see that the data is too much, and it will drop it on to your hard disk in virtual mempory. that is where the 256MB, and even 512MB comes into play.

Doom 3 on ultra quality alone uses 500MB of texture data. couple that with 6xAA/16xAF and it will exceed the 512MB threshold.

EDIT: In short, the 256MB card is the much better buy.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah it tells you when you click 'Ultra Settings' that it's meant for 500mb+ of texture data lol. 512mb cards were supposed to be out already but they are just barely making the scene into hardware
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:57 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Thats why ya get a lot of system ram and up the AGP aperture size :-p



err did i spell that right?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to Bpowa
Default

K thanks everybody, now just to start saving for that, another hard drive, motherboard, and possibly watercooling. Thanks all
Bpowa is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Thats why ya get a lot of system ram and up the AGP aperture size :-p



err did i spell that right?
But your system ram is very slow in comparasion

My ram is 6.4 GB \ Sec on system and like 20 GB \ Sec on my 6600GT
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Duh, 128MB... Simple questions deserve simple answers...
That is not a simple answer so much as it is a wrong one.

This question really isn't that difficult. Anything below a 6800 and an x800 will not effectively utilize 256mb of RAM and therefore it is pointless to have and actually cards with that amount will usually have decreased performance over their 128mb counterparts.

A 6800 or an x800 will be able to properly use 256mb ram and this is a huge help, anything that uses 128 on these cards is a downgraded version.

I wouldn't buy anything that's been downgraded like that. So basically don't buy that 6800 128MB because it has less memory, less pipes etc.

If you get a 6800/x800 or higher make sure it has 256mb. And definitely get the gt. Basically if you are shopping ATI stay away from pro's and se's and these are crappy cards IMHO. If you are going for nvidia stay away from the ones with no suffix (ie just 6800) and LE as these are the crappy nvidia cards. For a 6800 make sure you are buying either a GT or ultra, nothing less.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
If you get a 6800/x800 or higher make sure it has 256mb. And definitely get the gt. Basically if you are shopping ATI stay away from pro's and se's and these are crappy cards IMHO. If you are going for nvidia stay away from the ones with no suffix (ie just 6800) and LE as these are the crappy nvidia cards. For a 6800 make sure you are buying either a GT or ultra, nothing less.
I'm a bit torn on this issue, many of these cards listed above such as SE or non-suffix nVidia cards may have one bad pipeline, or in some cases, no bad pipelines, they were simply turned off to retail at the lower price. If you're lucky, you can snag one of these and unlock the hidden pipelines and bang, you've got a card that will perform the same as it's full pipeline counterpart at a fraction of the price.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 06:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

True, but that's only if you get lucky and all the pipes are intact which I think is pretty rare. I think that's a bad way to try and save money myself.
I see your point though, for those that successfully unlike the pipes and overclock the frequencies they might save $40. But I don't think it's worth it. Spend the money, get the good stuff. I think I would rather have a 6600 gt than a 6800 LE (especially that one that has 256mb memory on a 128 bit bus *shudder* )
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

On the leadtek cards their was like a 90% suscess rate for unlocking pipes? Yeah.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.