Did my card go "Pop"? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 03:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

BFG is a good company. Shouldn't be a problem.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

I had a Ti 4600 go up in smoke on me after about 4 months of operation , dont worry about it , it happens , just the way electronics are , parts can fail at anytime , I really wish the companys would take more time to burn the cards in and do extensive testing , but since these are considered class 1 consumer products they most likely only do a visual inspection of the card to make sure all parts are where they should be and pass it on .
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 05:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Time = money

I'm sure they do spend what they consider an optimal amount of time considering how many cards come off the line working quite well
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 05:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Replacing one card to keep a customer satisfied is no skin off these guys backs, plus I'm quite certain they have no way of telling if a GPU was tweaked or not before the failure.

I honestly think that the card is overheating because the heatsink fan died on you, that's all.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

They dont have a way of testing if the GPU was tweaked or not in 99% of cases. It's software unless you flash your bios.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Time = money

I'm sure they do spend what they consider an optimal amount of time considering how many cards come off the line working quite well

Oh I know all to much how stuff works , Iv worked for HP and Phillips and a place called Eldec , Test and repairing , The crap we let go through HP was insane < class 1 and 2 . But Phillips and Eldec where Class 3 electronics that required extensive testing to make sure they never fail < millitary and medical .
__________________
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 11:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Overclocking is detectable, but I'm clean.

What they can detect is what part of the graphic card is stopping the electricity from flowing, so we'll see.
strine is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 11:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
But Phillips and Eldec where Class 3 electronics that required extensive testing to make sure they never fail < millitary and medical .
yeah but obviously medical and military will have a lot more presidence than a graphics card for joe blow, so extensive testing on those I would expect nothing less.

Quote:
Overclocking is detectable, but I'm clean.

What they can detect is what part of the graphic card is stopping the electricity from flowing, so we'll see.
Nah, they honestly dont have the time to go and play sleuth to see if you OC'd it. They normally pop it into a computer, if it doesn't run or shows completely garbeled then it's labeled junk.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23
Default

I'm getting it back between tomorrow and Thursday. I'm so relieved.
strine is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Cool deal
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.