Did I mess up??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 10:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default Did I mess up???

Okay I got some Artic Silver 5 because I wanted to OC my computer from 2.8 to 3.2 or so. Before I began my computer ran at 46C under heavy load. I must have read something wrong because I took off the pad that came with the heat sink (Pentium IV stock) and cleaned both the heat sink and chip with some Isopropyl alcohol. I put some of the AS5 on and now computer is running 53C on heavy load (no over clocking). I know it's supposed to take a bit to settle in but it also says it should drop the temperature down a few degrees when i first apply it (not raise it). So was I not supposed to take off the pad or do i have to much AS5 on it or what? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Have Fun
Sean
__________________

sean53180 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

how much AS5 did you put on?
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yes you were supposed to take off the pad.

Make sure you only applied a thin layer of AS5 to the CPU die. if it's a CPU with a heatspreader then you should have only put a BB sized drop in the middle, put the heatsink on evenly, given it a twist in each direction approx 1 degree (which is freakin TINY, I mean BARELY move it) and then make sure you go back and forth tightening the screws a little at a time so the pressure is evened out. Make sure the heatsink is infact making enough contact with the CPU
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default

I put a bb size drop of AS5 on and the heatsink is one of thouse clip ons. I forgot to mention its a P4 2.8 HT chip. If i turn it more than one degree would that affect it? I thought i may have done it wrong the first time so i took off and looked at it and it looked like the picture on the Artic Silver website. I then cleaned all the AS5 off again and then did the same thing to no avail.
sean53180 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it shouldn't effect it drastically, but generally the 1 degree turn just evens it out and going more than that might smudge it more than it needs to be.

Well hmmmm if you've even resat it and same temps, theeeen you might just wait a week or so and see if it drops after burn in, but dang it shouldn't have just jumped like that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Give it a few days or so of burn in time to let it settle in, but it sounds like you got some bubbles trapped in there or there's an area that's not contacting the CPU and heatsink so you've got some space between the two.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Okay ive given it a few days now to settle and nothing. I was reading on AS5 website that if i had a wax heat pad that it would be impossible to clean it all off with just Isopropyl alcohol. Now is this just them peddling their cleaner or would this account for the 6-7C temperature rise. Perhaps i should try another heatsink or something; I spent enough on this computer that it shouldnt have this much of a temp. issuse w/o OCing. Any help would again be appreciated.

Sean
sean53180 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

The wax pads are impossible to get COMPLETLY off after they are used once, reason being the way sinks into the microscopic valleys and the cleaning cant get down that deep to remove it, since there is still way in it the AS5 wont work to its full potential because its only works great when it can fill the valleys it self.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.