DiamondMax 10 300gb SATA Drivers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Angry DiamondMax 10 300gb SATA Drivers

Ok here's the deal . . . i'm helping my friend assemble his new rig, but we're having issues with the hard drive. He got the OEM version of the drive so he dosen't have the dang driver disk.

Do any of ya'll know where i can find them or can you send them to me?
__________________

nuch130 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

can't find the drivers for that drive, what is your mobo?
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

um, you don't need a driver for the hard drive...it's in the BIOS
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

from what I am reading the driver should be for the mobo controller not the drive itself.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

well the mobo is a Asus A8v Deluxe
nuch130 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You dont need a driver for a H/D...
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

ok . . . onto the next issue then . . . when installing windows xp pro (well trying to atleast) it say it can't find the HD
nuch130 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

hard drives can't have drivers because what if you put a new HD in the computer and it doesn't have an OS or even formatted? You should not need drivers for your HD even though it's SATA because there would be no way to install your OS.
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

there's no op sys yet
nuch130 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

yeah
well if you are installing windows its a different scenario
in this case press F6 when it asks if you want to install any third party drivers and then stick in a disk with the driver on it. But that's just for windows, you still dont need a driver to use the hd just when installing
__________________

__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.