Diagnose Graphics card problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default Diagnose Graphics card problem.

intel Pentium 4 640
ASUS P5RD1-V
CORSAIR PC3200 512x2
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6L200M0 200GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150
MSI NX6600GT-TD128E
DVD-RW drive
DVD drive
XP Home Ed. SP2

Ok here is my problem. When playing a graphics intense game, or trying to run 3DMark05, sometimes the screen locks up, and then goes to blue screen with an error message saying that the display driver went into an infinite loop, when I restard Microsoft online Crash Analysis says that the Nvidia driver is what cause the crash. I've tried every driver available, I've tried a clean install of Windows. I tried using driver cleaner since I was bouncing from one driver to another, and the problem was not solved it did make it crash less often.

MSI Tech Support seems to think the problem is either the card is a dud or its a power supply issue
Power supply is an Atrix(came with the case) rated at 480w (+3.3V@30A, +5V@45A, +12V@15A, -5V@1A, -12V@1A, +5VSB@2.5A). One thing I've noticed is, the higher I overclock the CPU(and the better it performs in PCMark2005) the lower my graphics card performs (lower 3Dmark05 score). Could this be another indicator of a power issue? (cpu draining power away from the graphics card?) Thanks.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

It must be the fact that you have an overclock. You should turn all overclocks down to stock speeds and try again.

Also your 12V rail does not have enough ampage for your system. You should be looking at about 20A at least.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Its not over clocked at the moment, I only had it oc'd a few times while I was running benchmarks to see what I could do. The error occurs no matter what. I'm guessing that I need a beefier power supply though. Ohh and I meant to post this in the "Hardware Troubleshooting" board, but I was reading this one and wasnt paying attention to where I was posting, any chance a mod can move it??? Thanks.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Than gfx card is overheating
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i would recommend to you getting another psu while adding a new fan for the graphics card. psu that come with cases are generally bad quality
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yes like I said with that setup it's obviously the PSU that's almost definitely causing the problem, with only 15A. I doubt it's overheating or it would be artifacting instead. I'm positive a good PSU will fix this.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Ok I went ahead and got a new power supply, a 500watt Ultra X Connect, got it for $79 plus a $40 mail in rebate. Its got all that LED crap on it which I'm not a fan of, but it the price was right so I went with it.

http://www.ultraproducts.com/product...&productID=161
cedjunior is offline  
Old 11-12-2005, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

did the new PSU fix it???

I'm having the same problem.

My vid card fan is working, and my power supply is a $35 420 watt aspire.

However lots of people say it's bad memory but memtest runs fine for me.

GRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yesterday I played CSS for hours no probs, I play need for speed demo & it crashed to this screen.
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 07:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

My PSU is 18A on the 12v BTW
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.