DFI NF3 Skt939 AGP is on it's way - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 12:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Quote:
Anyways, nf4 is gonna take your nf3 to SCHOOL biatch
i would have to agree
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Nubius, where did you buy it from?
__________________

__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I originally didn't tell people but since I already got it I suppose I can say

www.mwave.com has em

http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....iteria=BA30085

Theres the direct link.

Quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyways, nf4 is gonna take your nf3 to SCHOOL biatch
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i would have to agree
you agree because 4 is a higher number than 3 thus it must be better......the only difference is that 3 handles an AGP bus whereas 4 handles the PCI bus.......and since we both have 6800GT's and we all know that the 6800GT's don't even use but 8x bus just like AGP......then there will be virtually no differences.........of course the best way to find out how much more 'optimized' one might be over the other is to run stock speeds and the same GT specs and then see what we get in various benchmarks.......I'd honestly be surprised if it was a very big difference at all.

Gaara - a lot of people are putting their cards in the bottom slot so they have plenty of room to add a chipset fan or water block......you just gotta enable SLI so it makes the bottom card PCI-E 8x instead of 1x like it is with SLI disabled and you should be good to go......not that it's imperative you get great cooling on it, but I think I'll be able to get my current aftermarket chipset fan to fit on the new board hopefully
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:01 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

nice...mwave is like 10 minutes away from my house

btw, did you get a 3200+ venice?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Thats cool, i dindt think about it that way really. so i suppose your right there, but we shall see.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
btw, did you get a 3200+ venice?
Yessir....I believe gaara did as well.....so like I said we will be damn near identicle.....we've both got DD watercooling, 6800GTs, 3200+ venices...and a DFI board He's got OCZ Platinum Rev2s though and I have Patriot XBLs.......both of us are unsure how far our RAM will go...OCZ is good, but his has the new TCC5 chip, and there's been both success and horror stories so it'll be luck of the draw there........mine is guaranteed by the manufacturer to run at DDR533 so I'm hoping for around 275MHz honestly.


Quote:
Thats cool, i dindt think about it that way really. so i suppose your right there, but we shall see.
Don't get me wrong though, there very well could be a difference, but for the most part the Nf4 wasn't like a 'supreme optimized' chipset or anything compared to nf3.....it was simply made for a different bus.......oh well if my RAM is higher, CPU is higher, and hell if graphics card turns out to be higher then it won't matter but that's just wishful thinking.......either way it'll be nice to go HEAD TO HEAD and see what kind of benches we got, and we got some motivation to 'beat the other guy'

I'M OUT FOR BLOOD GAARA!!! YOU WILL BE TAKEN IN BY MY SEXY NO JUTSO AND THEN YOU WILL GO DOWN!
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

^^ ROFLMAO
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 06:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

$30 on Nubius! Besides, i personally prefer Patriot to OCZ for OCing (not that OCZ is bad)
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 06:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

apart from the AGP/PCI-E differenece of the NF3 to the NF4 is there no other difference?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Yea, pretty much
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.