DFI LANPARTY UT Ultra-D ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 01:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default DFI LANPARTY UT Ultra-D ??

http://www.pccasegear.com/prod1847.htm

Hey im just wondering if this mtoherboard is a SLi board. It says it comes with a SLi graphics card bridge, what is with that? and is the LANPARTY nF4 SLi-D worth getting over this board
?
__________________

Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

no that board is not SLI, it just has 2x pci-e slots

and if you're going to go SLI, then get the SLI board, if not, then don't

IMO, there's no point in going SLI
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

yeh i didnt really see the point of SLi anyway, i would never bother buying to graphics cards, rather i would just upgrade, thanx
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There is a mod where you can make the Ultra-D into a SLI board. Real easy too.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2322&p=2

but if you aren't interested in SLI I guess it doesn't matter
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Well the only advantage i see in having Sli is if i were going to have say 2 6800 ultra's, but i doubt i could ever justify spending that much, Yeh i think that the ultra D comes with the mod, but it say warranty is void if you use it.
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol no the Ultra-D doesn't COME with the mod, you gotta do it yourself, yes technically it'd void the warrenty IF something were to happen but you follow those instructions and you'll be aright, besides you can clean off conductive paint and POOF! "mod....what mod?"

Also, you could just get a 6800GT now (which overclock to ultra speeds EASILY, I'm running mine at that right now, says in sig) and then down the road buy another...SLI doesn't mean you gotta get two right away, but I really don't care for SLI myself
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

http://www.pccasegear.com/prod1847.htm

look at that link, it says it comes with an SLi graphics card bridge.

I know you don't need to buy two graphics cards strait away for SLi my point was if u want better graphics wouldnt it be wiser to upgrade the quality of your card, rather then quantity
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

um better graphics depends on the game, not the card, the card just drives the game

but yea, a 6800gt on a dfi lanparty is enough for any game
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

you still want to be able to get everything out of a game.
Diablo i just noticed that your system is pretty much what im going to buy. How does it go? and is that just the standard winfast px6600GT and not the extreme edition, because i was looking at getting either the extreme edition of that card or the evga 6600GT, and why dont i just get some Geil RAM, if its working for you?
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
look at that link, it says it comes with an SLi graphics card bridge.
dude that bridge is just to connect the cards, that's not the 'mod' the mod requires connecting two resistors on the chipset....the Ultra-D board can utilize two cards, but it's not the same as a SLI board because of the bandwidth basically, the mod I linked is to make your system be recognized as a SLI board

Also you could go with an eVGA 6600GT like I did and within 9 days if you got more cash you can upgrade to the 6800GT, that's what I did and it's running Ultra specs, great card
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.