DFI lanparty ULTRA-D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default DFI lanparty ULTRA-D

I will be building my first computer soon, and wanted to use the DFI lanparty ULTRA -D mobo.

A lot of replies on newegg say things like 'not a beginners board!' and 'i had a lot of trouble with ram frequincies' and 'my ram didn't work in dual channel mode'

So im stumped here, could you guys tell me if it's a good board from your expieriences with it? if it's not a beginner board oculd you recommend me one that's better within the same price range?

Thanks!
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

The RAM problems are usually fixed with BIOS updates and time, from what I hear.

The not beginners board comes from the insane amount of options in the bios, that most DFI boards, let alone NVidia DFI boards (And Lanparty board) have.

Excellent board from what I've read.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

before i make a quick judgement, i want to hear some more peoples opinions.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Man don't let those people on newegg get to you. After all, it's just "assembling" a computer.. As long as u don't do anything really stupid, don't worry so much .. Just read the manual (DFI) first so that u are comfortable with everything and you should be good ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you want to overclock, than the DFI lanparty are the boards you want to get. I will even recomend it to you even if you are not overclocking, due to its stability.

The overclocking options are never ending (well they are, but it has the more options than any other board.)

I wish I waited a month for them to come out.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

lol, they also said that manual was ****. so i got a bit worried.
so anyone at all on TF had problems with theirs if they have it? or more opions would be great .
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

the paper manuals are bad, but the CD manual is a lot better.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 03:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

ah i see. thanks for that info :P :P :P

damn neweggians, yes, neweggians, they have their own culture and religion and nation. i think.
they all can die because their reviews suck anus.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 04:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

The DFI board is just as easy as any othre board out there. The only problems Ive seen have been people using "value Ram" For some reason the board doesnt like it, but its a simple fix of just raising the voltage.

heres a good site for the board: www.dfi-street.com

all your answers will be there
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 06:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The DFI board is just as easy as any othre board out there.
lol no it's not....it's got tons more options in the RAM alone....but generally if you're just putting it all together you'll be fine.....it's once you go to overclock you'll be overwhelmed by the options presented to you.

Quote:
heres a good site for the board: www.dfi-street.com
That's not just "a good site", it's THE site for any DFI board....all the dfi reps are there.....mostly a guy named AngryGames, he's the luck SOB that gets all the new boards and crap to play around with.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.