DFI Lanparty CPU fan help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2005, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Unhappy DFI Lanparty CPU fan help!

Hi guys!

I just installed a Zalman 7700 ALCU on my Venice 3200+ on a DFI Lanparty Ultra-D NF4 mobo. Please read the whole description guys, there are a few twists and turns.

The 7700 comes with something called a Fan Mate 2 which allows you to control the speed of the CPU fan.

The thing is, when I turn the knob of the Fan Mate 2, the CPU fan does NOT change speed! It stays at the same speed, when connected to the 3 pin "CPU fan slot".

The BIOS Health Monitor tells me the fan is spinning at 800 something RPM when on slow setting. When the speed is attempted to be "increased" using Fan Mate 2, even though the fan is spinning at the same speed, the "CPU fan speed" in the BIOS goes to ZERO. (instead of both getting INCREASED)

When I use ANOTHER 3-pin fan input slot other than "CPU fan input slot" (e.g. Fan 2 slot), the speed increases to like 1700 something. So the "Fan Mate" thing is doing something right. Even though both numbers (800 and 1700 something) are less than the "stated" speeds of 1000/2000 +- 10%. (e.g. 900-1100 and 1800-2200 for the two modes). I guess this is another problem altogether.

Now, I INITALLY thought there was a problem with the 3-pin CPU fan slot. But the thing is, when I START the computer with the 7700 connected to the 3 pin CPU fan slot, it actually spins pretty fast (around 1700). But, as the computer is POSTing it slows itself down to like 800.. After that, as described before, no matter how much I turn the knob, it stays at 800 something rpm.


So in summary, while both 3-pin CPU fan slot and Fan 2 slots are "capable" of spinning the darn thing at 1700 rpm, the 3-pin CPU fan slot only can do it "before" POSTing. After that, no matter how much I turn the knob, the rpm stays around 800 rpm. Connecting to the Fan 2 slot doesn't produce this problem.

Also, the reason why the fan speed is "off-specification" by a few rpm is also worrying me. It should be plus/minus 10% off 1000 rpm (for silent) and 2000 rpm (for normal). But I am getting around 800 and 1700 respectively.


I am using Arctic Silver 5. After 1/2 of operation, the CPU temperature is at 38 Celsius. This good or bad?

DFI Lanparty Ultra-D NF4
Venice 3200+
Zalman 7700 ALCU
Arctic Silver 5

Thank you!!

Happity_Poppity is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6

Bump! C'mon guys! I am sure someone knows the answer to this? Thx!

Happity_Poppity is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

I wouldn't know how to solve the problem with your fanmate, however 38C is a very good temperature and I honestly wouldn't concern yourself with that. I personally prefer using a rheobus when controlling fan speed, it's fairly straightforward and not much of a hassle, but to each his own.

edit - ah I just thought of something, the DFI has an option in the BIOS which controls the fan speed of fans connected to the CPU and chipset headers, you can set the temperature in which the fan spins at maximum speed. I think that may conflict with your fanmate and I'd suggest connecting the fan directly to your PSU anyways since it's not the best idea to use the motherboard headers for stability reasons
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

The CPU tempature is NOT 38 degrees. I have that exact motherboard, and for some reason, it always says 38 in the BIOS. It is probably much lower, use a program like smartguardian (on the DFI cd) to check in windows.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

38 is pretty good, but on my comp, my case's temp probe reports 28-30 idle and around 37 full load (on stock), so that seems slightly high, but nothing to be worried about

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 01:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

well it's not overheating...why worry


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.