DFI LanPart What one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default DFI LanPart What one?

I don't know what DFI LanParty Motherboard to get, the DFI Lanparty NF4 UT SLI-DR or the DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-D? I am going with an Athlon 64 4000+ and 1gig of DDR Patriot ram, SLI mode is going to be two eVGA 6800gt. Basicly what one is better?

-Ryan
__________________

MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Are you sure you don't mean the Ultra-D? I could've sworn DFI only had one SLI board, the SLI-DR, and the Ultra-D was single PCI-E. Although the Ultra-D you can mod pretty easily into a 16x/2x SLI board if you wanted to.

They are both about the same, if you wanted to save some money I'd buy the Ultra and just mod it, but as far as performance goes the 8x/8x has its up and downs and the 16x/2x has its ups and downs.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well the SLI-DR is better

The only thing it has over the SLI-D is some diagnostic part built in... or something like that
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Could you explain the difference between them? They both have SLI technologies it says, what is this8x/8x and 16x/2x?

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Ah, I've just looked and there is infact an SLI-D, but I really don't think it's as good as the DR since it hasn't gotten much exposure and I haven't seen anyone using one, so yeah.

Ignore my above post, I'm refering to an Ultra D which is technically a normal PCI-E board that can be modded into an SLI board.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

What do you mean can be modified into an SLI board?

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/printarticle.aspx?i=2322
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 01:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That doesnt include the bridge, and it can just be modded into an SLI-D not a DR

SLI-DR has built in diagnostics just compare them on DFI site
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Well looking on Nvidia's site it says it is an SLI ready board, here is the link. And where I'm ordering it from it comes with the bridge... Am I missing something here?

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 02:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah if you buy the SLI-D \ DR it comes with the bridge

Ultra-D does not include bridge
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.