dell windows 98 needs windows 2000 wont let me!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2004, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default dell windows 98 needs windows 2000 wont let me!!

ok i have a old used dell with windows 98 on it, well it was on it but i reformated the harddrive so it has nothing on it now, i tryed to install windows 2000 but it crashes to the "blue" screen on its first reboot after i instal it. It instals fine but when it has to reboot it crashes on me.

does any one know whats going on, is it the dell?? or just that the 98 bios wont accept the 2000 version.

FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Well if it is that old i wouldnt try to put 2000 on it in the first place, probobly a problem with the ram and hard drive capacity. give me the specs.

15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11

well i cant cause i dont know the specs my mom found it in a computer barn or something. but ill try to add some old ram cards and maybe a small hd or somthing that we have liying around,

but if any one else knows of any other reasons tell me.
FlamingTeddiz is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

Try and find out as much as you can about the hardware in the PC. Then goto microsoft's website and take a gander at the Windows 2000 Hardware Compatability List and see if your system can run Win2k.

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 02:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

I have seen some name brand PCs (Compaq, GateWay, E-machine) where they will only take the OS that came with it. And there is nothing you can do about changing it.

In some cases, it will only take the Win 98 disk that came along with it.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.