dell psu.... ahhhhhh! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 03:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

ive heard the the pins are in a different order on the mobo connector for dell mobos, so only a dell psu will work with a dell mobo.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Could you take a quick picture of the backside of the case where the PSU is and post it for me to see?
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

ok.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

here you go:

*space where picture used to be*
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

oh. that was a bit too big.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ok. Well, that case has a opening large enough where you could install probably most PSU's. You just need to determine if your Motherboard is 20pin or 24pin.

IF that MOBO PCI express or AGP? If it's PCI express it's 24pin. If it's AGP it's most likely 20pin. Just open your case and pull out the power connector for the MOBO. Count how many pins it has. It will either be 2 rows of 10 pins or 2 rows of 12pins.

Then you can buy the correct PSU. PCP&C is the best, but you won't have to go with them.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

it is pci-e

im going to edit and remove that picture, its messing up the thread. lol

btw: thanks alot, HAVOC2k5
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
it is pci-e

im going to edit and remove that picture, its messing up the thread. lol

btw: thanks alot, HAVOC2k5
I would say that you'll be fine with a PCP&C Turbo-cool 510 SLI/Express: Although expensive at $219.00 you won't need anything else. If you ever go SLI in the future, it will serve you there too.
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...hp?show=T51SLI

But, i'm sure that prety much most ATX PSU's will fit in that case. You just need to make sure they are 24 pin.

Good luck
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

k, thanks for all ur help.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.