Dell P4 2.26 replaced with a 1.5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default Dell P4 2.26 replaced with a 1.5

A friend of mine is giving me his Dell Optiplex GX250 without the 2.26 processor and ram but I have my old trusty P4 1.5 478 socket processor will this work? I checked on the Dell web site and forum and got no help so can someone help me?
Thanks in advance
__________________

Roaddog is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

i really doubt it will. i dont think the optiplex has a socket 478. but go ahead and count the pins ... or wait for someone here that knows
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Nope, it won't work. throw it away, Dell sucks, everyone should know that. ****in' marketin' whores!
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

What is the service tag ####. Dont listen to any of them It is still a good computer. It should work but I want to double check.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Nope, it won't work. throw it away, Dell sucks, everyone should know that. ****in' marketin' whores!
Wow, thats kind of an ingnorant comment.

@Roaddog:
From the looks of the docs on Dell's website, the Optiplex uses Socket 478 as well. So, there should be no problem using your 1.5GHz.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

Really? i didn't think it did. ok i was wrong
GageMW is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Ummmm, sometimes the Chipsets don't support it, like I can't put 400 MHz Celerons in my MOBO, cause the Chipsets don't support it.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Have a look for yourselves at www.dell.com . Some other Optiplexes use a P4.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

As long as its a socket 478 it should work. Try it. The worst that will happen is that it will not POST.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Nope, it won't work. throw it away, Dell sucks, everyone should know that. ****in' marketin' whores!
From a home users point of view, many people do think Dell sucks. But when you are a large company and one of your babies die (for instance, your mail server), if your smart, and you purchased the right warrenties, they will have a tech onsite in an hour or less with replacement parts.
__________________

Cody is offline  
Closed Thread

« psu? | cd/dvd rom »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.