Dell motherboard upgrade dilemma!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Default Dell motherboard upgrade dilemma!!

Hi all! Here's the problem. I have a Dell Dimension V400 Pentium 2, which I would like to upgrade to a Pentium 3 850MHz or close to it. This requires swapping out the motherboard (Which I just bought on E-bay), to accomodate the new processor. Problem is, instead of the standard screws securing the motherboard to the chassis, my Dell has some pin-type connectors, which appear to be soldered directly to the case. Any help on how to get the damn thing out of the case would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance.

Daniel
__________________

Danwrites12 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 06:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

you`ed be better off salvaging what you can from the dell case and get another case there pretty cheap and its not worth the headache
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

i would suggest getting a new case. You can find some for 20 and up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

You might want to watch it because more recent Dells have rewired P/S's. I don't know if they they did it back then or not, but if they did and you hook up a new mobo(that's not from Dell).....badabing, badabang, badaboom, your computer just met it's doom. Simply put, better get another P/S.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

get a new psu/case combo, get one from your local computer market. i got one here for 37AUD
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.