Dell motherboard upgrade dilemma!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2004, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Default Dell motherboard upgrade dilemma!!

Hi all! Here's the problem. I have a Dell Dimension V400 Pentium 2, which I would like to upgrade to a Pentium 3 850MHz or close to it. This requires swapping out the motherboard (Which I just bought on E-bay), to accomodate the new processor. Problem is, instead of the standard screws securing the motherboard to the chassis, my Dell has some pin-type connectors, which appear to be soldered directly to the case. Any help on how to get the damn thing out of the case would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance.


Danwrites12 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 05:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

you`ed be better off salvaging what you can from the dell case and get another case there pretty cheap and its not worth the headache

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
bobojuice's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice

i would suggest getting a new case. You can find some for 20 and up.
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
bobojuice is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394

You might want to watch it because more recent Dells have rewired P/S's. I don't know if they they did it back then or not, but if they did and you hook up a new mobo(that's not from Dell).....badabing, badabang, badaboom, your computer just met it's doom. Simply put, better get another P/S.
<img src=\"\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

get a new psu/case combo, get one from your local computer market. i got one here for 37AUD
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.