dell mobo compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2005, 08:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default dell mobo compatibility

Hi, I have a dell dimension 4100(4 years old in early june, still white case models) I need a new case as mine is pretty crappy on the inside, I'm looking for something mid to full tower, i need 4 - 6 internal 3.5 bays for HDDs, 2 external 3.5 bays and 2 - 3 external 5.25 bays, i dont need anything too fancy, nor do i want anything crappy, and i dont want to spend a lot of money on it, i dont need a look thru panel, i dont need a light, i dont need anything making it look REALLY powerful, i just need a case, I just want to make sure it's compatible with my motherboard, it has the following specs

Pentium 3 1 GHz
2 SDRAM DIMM slots
2 standard IDE channels
1 standard floppy channel

any help greatly appreciated, thanks

IBMan is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Get a atx case that takes your fancy, get a pencil, get a drill. Take out the motherboard tray on the new case, mark where the holes on the motherboard will be on the motherboard tray, put the motherboard back in a anti static bag. Get a drill and make the holes.

Sorry, but dell's don't use a standard case form (atx or at, depending on how old it is)


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195

They also use a different PSU pinout so you will have to use the old PSU and hopefully you can make it fit.
At $0.02, your analysis is overpriced for its worth.
The_Urge is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan

you're serious they use a different pin out?, they really go thru all that trouble JUST so u buy their parts?, that is moronic.
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Even if you drill it, a standoff will not exactly fit.

And to replace a propertiary dell POS's parts, it's cheaper to build your own PC basicly.

Yeah, they go thru all that trouble. You should request a name change from delldude4100 as well, since dell are morons.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.