Dell Latitude Floppy Problem - Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2004, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default Dell Latitude Floppy Problem - Help!

Ok folks, this is just over my head. Please, if anyone has any idea how to solve this, it is really giving me the creeps and it's even more important to me.

Anyway, story goes like this: I got an old Dell Latitude CP 233mmx/96/3.1 etc etc. I'm running win98se, and I can say that all worked fine. I had Softex Bay Manager running, but lately, on startup, app dockapp.exe used to get stucked and I had to kill the process. Nonetheless, the system it self worked fine without it. A few nights ago I tried to format a floppy to 720kb - I didn't had any empty ones so I copied the contents of one to the hd, which proves that the drive and the disc were working - and when I attempted the format I got error how the disc is not of right capacity. Since that moment - I cannot read, write or format any floppy disc. I tried rebooting, BIOS tampering, removing the drive and the controller, thus letting windows find it itself on startup - nothing. Curiosly, windows explorer ALWAYS shows the 3 1/2 floppy in the list, even when I remove it and reset it - but does not find a cdrom, when I put it in a modular bay. I can't get rid of this problem. Even more, now the battery problems started to show - I shows it has 30% power, but when I pull the power cable, it just shuts down instantly, like there is no battery. I can't even start it. But that's another story - this floppy crack is going on my nerves. If anyone has any idea pleaaaasseeeee help!?!?

P.S. There is more to it: no one had an answer to this, so I got pissed and formated the entire hdd (don't ask how, but thw floppy is still jammed). Now, when I start the comp, even when the both modular bays are empty, thus no floppy, battery or cdrom, on startup the computer reports that the disc in floppy drive is not a system disk, so I should replace it and press any key (!!!) I got the point, I done at least a thousand different installations in my "carieer" (w95, w98, wME, w2k, wXP, different linux distribs - so I have some experience) but I really have no idea what to do about this. I heard it could be a bios prob, but I cannot flash it since I can't establish any control over floppy.

As I said - pleaaaaseeee

neles is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 07:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247

but does not find a cdrom, when I put it in a modular bay. I can't get rid of this problem

Does it find the cdrom if you hook it up external. Then i would get a bootable cd and try to reload the OS> if you have a restore disk which i doubt because of the age of the laptop will it work. Either the OS is hosed or you have more indepth hardware problems.


i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104

most ppl are too lazy to read long stories, write shorter next time
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788

Originally posted by Turbo-Athlon5
most ppl are too lazy to read long stories, write shorter next time
such as you j/k
XT is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 02:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default Heh...

Well, as for the long story, trust me I know - but I couldn't write a shorter one if I wanted to describe the problem in detail. Anyway, as for the booting externaly, I must admit I didn't try it, since I lost the cable somewhere, but I'll give it a try for sure. Though, I'm not really optimistic, since everything so far indicates that the comp keeps detecting floppy even when I disable it in bios and remove it from the bay. As for the OS, I don't know what to think. I formated the hdd. Damn...I'm affraid that the controler is messed up, or something more indepth...
neles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.