Dell Latitude CSx Laptop Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Default Dell Latitude CSx Laptop Problems

I don't know a whole lot about laptops, and therefore posting here. I've got a Dell Latitude CSx laptop, PIII, 500Mhz. At bootup screen, it displays the bios info etc, but only loads about 95%, and then hangs. I can get into the bios, but it says that no hdd was detected. Any suggestions on what to do, I have no clue with a laptop. Can't find anyway to make sure it's plugged in correctly or anything else in that nature.
__________________

__________________
\"I have many layer-eight problems in my life, including myself.\"
Obtruse_Man4 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Its possible that the HDD is bad. Is it the original drive?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to Syn7ax 3rror
Default

Dell always breaks down. But yea, probably a HDD problem.
Syn7ax 3rror is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^In your opinion.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

try pulling the hd out, and then putting it back in again. it may be a didgy connection. how long ago did you get the laptop? you should be able to get it replaced.

my dell hasnt broken down yet...
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.