dell judgement - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default dell judgement

after going to my friends house yesterday, i looked to see what specs his computer was (RAM, HD, video, sound, etc.) and could you tell me if this computer is any good (its from 2002)

Dell Dimension 8250
Intel Pentium 4 2.40 Ghz
256 MB RDRAM
Maxtor 40GB HD
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 64 MB
Creative SoundBlaster Live 5.1
LG DVD-ROM/Lite-On CD-RW
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default

It's not that bad, the video card could be a bottle neck
__________________

viking is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

A long way on the wrong side of not bad. 256mb's is not enough to run windows, I'm using 470mbs right now. CPU is quite old, along with the GPU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i agree with the fact that 256 MB is not enough to run windows xp. And his computer agrees with that! I am guessing that the video card is 64 MB, but i do know the model of it.

I have heard that RDRAM is faster and runs smoother than SDRAM and DDR-RAM, is that true?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

RDRAM is nice, but to bad he has it. Its incredibly expensive. Since you have to have a MBD to support it, he can't just switch off to DDR. It used to be true that RDRAM was much better, but todays RAM is better.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

he asked me yesterday if i could install some more memory (i have a memory chip that im not using) and i said "sorry, your computer wont support it!"
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
A long way on the wrong side of not bad. 256mb's is not enough to run windows, I'm using 470mbs right now. CPU is quite old, along with the GPU.
i find that 512 MB on my computer is really great for windows, but at school, their machines crawl at 512 MB RAM.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i feel sorry for the people who bought a computer back when they had 64 MB Of memory in 2000.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My old PC has 64mb's and it is from 1998, and I put XP on it, for a week until I had time to format again.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 06:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm using a computer that was a 64mb machine. Needless to say, I upgraded. It's up to 512mb now. Compaq...

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.